Advisory Council - Iowa College Access Network - ICAN

Advisory Council

ICAN's relationship with Iowa's school counselors is one of the main reasons for its success in helping students create a plan for their future. Over the years the Advisory Council has played a large part in that success, bringing counselors from across the state together to discuss new developments in the field of college access and how to best address the needs of the students.

In 2013-2014 academic year, ICAN expanded its advisory council to include admission and financial aid professionals from various colleges and universities in Iowa. This expansion brought together the three main components of college access and began a broader conversation on student success and financial stability.

Advisory members meet each year through webinars and an annual meeting to discuss:

  • Ways that ICAN can better serve students.
  • Content of ICAN presentations and materials.
  • Innovative programs to increase success in education for all students.
  • Pressing Issues facing counselors and students today.

Council members also assist in developing long-range planning goals. If you are interested in becoming a member of the Advisory Council, please contact ICAN.

Annual Meeting

The ICAN Advisory Council met on October 13, 2015, in Ankeny.

The next meeting is scheduled for spring 2017.

Departing Members

ICAN thanks and recognizes the following Advisory Council members who completed their three-year term this spring:

  • Paul Jacobson - Gilbert High School (Gilbert)
  • Troy Bergmann - North Cedar High School (Stanwood)
  • Jeff Baker - Nevada High School (Nevada)
  • Jeff Lucas - East High School (Sioux City)
  • Tracie Pavon - Simpson College (Indianola)
  • Michael Barron - University of Iowa (Iowa City)
  • Sheryl Cline - ISCA Vice President - K12 (Central City High School - Central City)


Copyright © 1998-2018 Iowa College Access Network. All Rights Reserved.